John Muns Elected Plano Mayor

Harry LaRosiliere served two four-year terms as mayor

NBC 5 News

Election Results Pages:
Special Election:
U.S. Rep. Dist. 6
By County: Collin | Dallas | Denton | Tarrant
Propositions: School Bonds | Municipal Props
All Races: Alphabetical Listing

Plano businessman John Muns was elected the city's next mayor Saturday night, defeating city council member Lily Bao and retired professor Lydia Ortega.

The three candidates were on the ballot to replace Plano Mayor Harry LaRosiliere, whose tenure comes to an end after eight years due to term limits.

Lily Bao
Bao is a realtor and the Plano City Council member for Place 7, a position to which she was elected in 2019. Bao previously ran for mayor in 2017, losing to LaRosiliere. According to her campaign website, Bao has held several positions in the community in addition to her city council seat, including on the Collin County Myers Park & Event Center Advisory Board, the Plano Housing Authority Advisory Board and the Plano ISD Diversity Advisory Committee. She is also a member of the Plano Chamber of Commerce.
Online- Lily Bao for Mayor
Twitter- @lilyforplano

John Muns
Muns is a Plano businessman who has served in multiple civic roles, including on the Plano ISD Board of Trustees, the planning and zoning commission, and the YMCA, Plano Orchestra and civic center boards. Muns has lived in Plano for 50 years and has the endorsements of five former mayors, according to NBC 5's media partner The Dallas Morning News.
Online- John Muns for Mayor
Twitter- No Twitter page was found for this candidate

Lydia Ortega
Ortega is a retired economics professor, who came to Plano from California, according to her campgain website. She touts her economic background and says she will work to keep "Plano an affordable, suburban community of excellence."
Online- Lydia Ortega for Mayor
Twitter- @Ortega4Plano

A list of all races, listed alphabetically, can be found here.

Decision 2021 Election Results

The results of more than 450 races can be seen in the pages below, sorted by category and county.

May 1 Election Results: Dallas County

May 1 Election Results: Tarrant County

County Election Pages

For other race results throughout North Texas, county election pages can be found here: Anderson, Bosque, Comanche, Collin, Cooke, Dallas, Delta, Denton, Ellis, Erath, Fannin, Freestone, Hamilton, Henderson, Hill, Hood, Hopkins, Hunt, Jack, Johnson, Kaufman, Lamar, Navarro, Palo Pinto, Parker, Rains, Red River, Rockwall, Somervell, Tarrant, Van Zandt, Wise.

Contact Us