NCAA Approves Dallas Football Classic - NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth

NCAA Approves Dallas Football Classic



    NCAA Approves Dallas Football Classic
    Getty Images
    DALLAS - OCTOBER 11: A general view of the Cotton Bowl before a game between the Oklahoma Sooners and the Texas Longhorns on October 11, 2008 in Dallas, Texas. (Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images)

    The NCAA has approved 35 bowl games for the next four years, including two new ones: the Dallas Football Classic and the New Era Pinstripe Bowl in New York.
    The NCAA said Friday that the bowls were licensed on a four-year cycle for the first time, though they will be reviewed each year.

    The move puts the licensing schedule -- from 2010-11 through 2013-14 -- in line with the length of bowl conference agreements.
    The first Dallas Football Classic at the Cotton Bowl is planned for New Year's Day 2011, involving the seventh-ranked team from the Big 12 against the sixth-ranked team from the Big Ten. Future games will include Conference USA.

    The Dallas-Fort Worth are also keeps the AT&T Cotton Bowl now held at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington on Jan. 7, 2011, and the Bell Helicopter Armed Forces Bowl in Fort Worth. Last year that game was played on Dec. 31.

    Texas is home to the Sun Bowl at Sun Bowl Stadium in El Paso, the Valero Alamo Bowl at the Alamodome in San Antonio and the Texas Bowl at Reliant Stadium in Houston.

    The first Pinstripe Bowl will be played at Yankee Stadium in the Bronx on Dec. 30. It will include the No. 3 team in the Big East and the No. 6 school in the Big 12, excluding Bowl Championship Series participants.
    Bowl applications were denied for the Cure Bowl in Orlando, Fla., and the Christmas Bowl in Los Angeles.

    More: Full NCAA list of bowls