Dallas County said Monday they were instituting a 60-day burn ban due to high drought conditions that have increased the potential for wildfires. It was the latest of more than 100 counties across the state to implement a burn ban.
The burn ban runs from June 24 until Sept. 22.
"Under the 60-day ban, residents are prohibited from open-acre fires and burning trash. There are exceptions to these rules, one being that you can still burn trash if you live somewhere that does not have waste removal services and if you meet other residency requirements," the county said.
The latest news from around North Texas.
Due to the imminent threat of wildfires caused by a lack of rainfall, severe drought conditions and excessive triple-digit heat, most North Texas counties are among the 136 Texas counties currently prohibited from open burning.
Those found in violation of burn bans could face a fine.
Any questions or concern, please call the Dallas County Fire Marshal's Office, we can be reached at 214-653-7970.