Amie's 2 TDs help Waskom to 3A Division II Crown

2014 Playoff Schedules/Results: All Scores6A | 5A | 4A | 3A | 2A | 1A
2014 Texas APSE All-State Football Teams 6A | 5A | 4A | 3A | 2A
Championships: All-Time2AD2 |2AD1 |3AD2 | 3AD1 |4AD2 |4AD1 | 5AD2 | 5AD1 | 6AD2 | 6AD1

Chan Amie scored touchdowns on an 88-yard kickoff return and a 5-yard run as Waskom defeated Newton 41-22 to claim the Class 3A Division II championship on Thursday night.

Dillon Benton, Trace Carter and Junebug Johnson added touchdowns for Waskom (15-1) on runs of 51 yards, 2 yards and 1 yard, respectively. Keilon Johnson scored a touchdown recovering a Newton fumble in the end zone.

The touchdowns for Newton (12-4) came on 8-yard runs by Calum Foster and Gabe Foster and a 43-yard pass from Roney Elam to Gabe Foster.

The Wildcats finished the season with 15 consecutive victories after losing their non-district opener to Class 4A Center. They were playing in the school's first state final.

Calum Foster's touchdown run was followed by a two-point pass from Elam to Tanner Holmes, giving the Eagles a brief 8-7 lead before Amie followed with the kickoff return for a touchdown.

Waskom gained 350 yards rushing on 46 attempts and didn't attempt a pass. Kevin Johnson led the Wildcats in rushing with 106 yards on 11 carries. Junebug Johnson added 92 yards on eight carries.

Newton was limited to 259 total yards and 216 yards rushing after coming into the game averaging 387.3 total yards a game, 340.3 rushing. Calum Foster was the game's leading rusher with 117 yards on 19 attempts.

Elam, a senior quarterback-defensive back who has committed to play for Texas A&M, was 1-for-2 passing for 43 yards and also completed the two-point pass.

Newton was playing in its fifth state final. The Eagles won state titles in 1974, 1998 and 2005. They came in the championship game on an 11-game winning streak after opening the season 1-3, all five of their non-district games played against 4A competition.

Copyright AP - Associated Press
Contact Us