Emmitt Smith Enshrined In Canton - NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth
Blue Star
The center of the Dallas Cowboys universe

Emmitt Smith Enshrined In Canton



    Emmitt Smith, the NFL's all-time leading rusher, can officially add Pro Football Hall of Famer to his already prodigious resume.

    Smith was announced as a member of the class of 2010, along with Jerry Rice, among others, today in Canton, Ohio. The pair, who were essentially locks for enshrinement, were among seven inductees announced on Saturday.

    Joining them were John Randle, Russ Grimm, Rickey Jackson, Dick LeBeau and Floyd Little.

    The eight-time Pro Bowler Smith is ubiquitous in league record books, the owner of the most rushing yards, rushing touchdowns and 100+ yard rushing performances in history. Smith played for the Cowboys from 1990 to 2002, and was inducted into the ring of honor alongside (now fellow) Hall of Famers Michael Irvin and Troy Aikman in 2005.

    Former-Cowboys' and -49ers' defensive end Charles Haley, who was among the semi-finalists, was once again denied by the selection committee.