Summer Begins Tuesday Night; Temps to Warm Up | NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth

Summer Begins Tuesday Night; Temps to Warm Up

    processing...

    NEWSLETTERS

    Summer Begins Tuesday Night; Temps to Warm Up
    NBC 5 News

    This week brings in the first day of summer. But what is the official start of summer?

    Summer officially begins when the summer solstice happens. The summer solstice is when the sun reaches its northernmost point from the equator. This is also the day with the most hours of sunlight during the whole year.

    This year the first day of summer depends on which time zone you live in. Here in Texas summer begins at 11:24 p.m. Tuesday June 20. In the Eastern Time zone summer begins on Wednesday at 12:24 a.m.

    Here is when summer begins across the country:

    • Wednesday, June 21, 12:24 a.m. EDT
    • Tuesday, June 20, 11:24 p.m. CDT
    • Tuesday, June 20, 10:24 p.m. MDT
    • Tuesday, June 20, 9:24 p.m. PDT

    The first day of summer in the Northern Hemisphere ranges in date from June 20 to 22 every year.

    The forecast does call for typical summer weather in North Texas. It will be sunny with highs in the mid-90s. The average high for the start of summer is 92.