Former Stars Niewwendyk, Belfour Added to Hockey Hall of Fame | NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth

Former Stars Niewwendyk, Belfour Added to Hockey Hall of Fame

Doug Gilmour, Mark Howe also inducted



    Getty Images
    Eddie Belfour, Joe Nieuwendyk

    The Hockey Hall of Fame has opened its doors to four new members, including two former Dallas Stars.

    Joe Nieuwendyk, Ed Belfour, Doug Gilmour and Mark Howe were presented with rings at the hall Monday morning.

    Nieuwendyk was a quiet leader who won three Stanley Cups with three teams, one of which was the 1999 Dallas Stars.

    Belfour was a goaltender who finished his career third on the NHL's career win list.  He was with Nieuwendyk on the 1999 Dallas team and both returned to the Stanley Cup finals with the Stars in 2000.

    Nieuwendyk won the Calder Memorial Trophy in 1987-88, the King Clancy Memorial Trophy in 1994-1995 and the Conn Smythe Trophy in 1998-99.

    Belfour won several trophies as well.  He won the Calder in 1990-91, the Vezina in 1990-91 and again in 1992-1993, the Roger Crozier MBNA Saving Grace Award in 1999-2000 and the William M. Jennings Trophy in 1990-91, 1992-93, 1994-95 and 1998-99. Belfour also won the Garry F. Longman Memorial Trophy in 1987-88 while playing with the IHL.

    Howe was a converted defenseman whose smooth skating and crisp passing helped the Flyers twice reach the Stanley finals. Howe had been eligible for more than a decade, but now joins his superstar father in the shrine. Gordie Howe sat in the front row during Monday's ceremony.

    Gilmour was a heart-and-soul player who got the most out of his modest size.