One Man’s Ranking of the Cowboys’ Five Super Bowl Wins

Getty Images

Arguably it’s like a mother singling out a favorite among her five children. But, let’s be honest, we judge – and rank – everything.

Even though they’re ultimately the same, sometimes yesterday’s hamburger just tasted better than today’s. And everyone – though they may have four identical hanging in the closet – has a favorite pair of blue jeans.

So too with the Cowboys’ Super Bowls. There are five of ‘em. And they each represent the same thing – a championship season.

Sports Connection

Connecting you to your favorite North Texas sports teams as well as sports news around the globe.

Hardaway Scores 23 to Lead Mavs Past Timberwolves

Rangers Rookie Lefty Burke Will Miss 2020 With Torn Labrum

But for different reason and personal preferences, we each have a ranking order of the Lombardi trophies. Here’s mine:

5. XXVIII 1993 Cowboys 30, Bills 13 – About as ho-hum as a Super Bowl can get, it was another expected blowout over the same Bills’ team in the wake of a bigger victory over the 49ers in the NFC Championship Game.

4. XII 1977 Cowboys 27, Broncos 10 – Beating former teammate Craig Morton and Denver’s hyped “Orange Crush” defense was satisfying, but topping a hapless opponent that committed eight turnovers hardly felt super. Cowboys committed 12 penalties, two turnovers and allowed Roger Staubach to be sacked five times – and still won in a blowout.

3. XXX 1995 Cowboys 27, Steelers 17 – Dulled by Barry Switzer’s coaching, Larry Brown’s MVP and a hint that the dynasty was coming to an end, only thing that made this one special was the fact that it exacted revenge for two Super Bowl losses to the hated Steelers.

2. XXVII 1992 Cowboys 52, Bills 17 – The 15-year wait for another title was worth it as Garth Brooks and Michael Jackson performed at the Rose Bowl, Troy Aikman threw five touchdown passes and only Leon Lett prevented Dallas for setting a Super Bowl record for most points scored.

1. VI 1971 Cowboys 24, Dolphins 3 – Your first one will always be special. Devastating title-game losses to the Packers were finally erased by a dominating defense and Bob Lilly’s epic 29-yard sack of Bob Griese. "Next Year's Champions" no more.

A native Texan who was born in Duncanville and graduated from UT-Arlington, Richie Whitt has been a mainstay in the Metroplex media since 1986. He’s held prominent roles on all media platforms including newspaper (Fort Worth Star-Telegram, Dallas Observer), radio (105.3 The Fan) and TV (co-host on TXA 21 and numerous guest appearances, including NBC 5). He currently lives in McKinney with his wife, Sybil, and two very spoiled dogs.

Copyright FREEL - NBC Local Media
Contact Us