Murray Nominated For Walter Payton Man of the Year Award

DeMarco Murray is one of 32 nominees for the award

Getty Images

DeMarco Murray has been named as the Dallas Cowboys’ nominee for the 2014 Walter Payton Man of the Year Award, the NFL announced on Tuesday.

The award honors players for outstanding performance on the field as well as in their community. Each nominee receives $1,000 to donate to the charity of their choice. The three finalists, to be announced next month, get another $5,000 and the winner receives $20,000 to donate.

Murray leads the NFL with 1,687 yards on 351 carries this season, and has caught 54 passes on his way to being considered a serious MVP candidate.

Among those joining Murray as Man of the Year nominees are the Packers’ Aaron Rodgers, the Seahawks’ Russell Wilson and the Chargers’ Philip Rivers.

The winner of the 2014 Walter Payton Man of the Year Award will be announced on January 31, 2015.

Stay on top of the latest Dallas Cowboys news with Follow NBC DFW on Facebook or have breaking Cowboys news sent directly to your phone with Blue Star SMS alerts. Text "bluestar" to 622339 (NBCDFW) to subscribe, text HELP for more info, and text STOP to end the subscription. Message and data rates may apply.Read more about it here.

Copyright FREEL - NBC Local Media
Contact Us