Austin, 5 Other Cowboys Selected for Pro Bowl

Six Cowboys will be Pro Bowlers

Miles Austin started this season as a third-string receiver for the Dallas Cowboys. Now, he's a Pro Bowler.

Austin was among six Dallas players chosen to the all-star squad Tuesday, and the team's lone first-time honoree. He's earned it by leading the NFC with 1,230 yards receiving. He also has 11 touchdowns among his 74 catches.

Austin is only the second Cowboys receiver to make the Pro Bowl since Michael Irvin. The other was Terrell Owens in 2007.

Outside linebacker DeMarcus Ware and center Andre Gurode were chosen as starters, while tight end Jason Witten, nose tackle Jay Ratliff and guard Leonard Davis made it as reserves.

This was the 30th time the Cowboys have had at least five honorees.

This is Ware's and Gurode's fourth straight year on the squad. Ware has been a starter all four times. Gurode's four straight invitations is a club record for centers.

Witten will make his sixth straight appearance -- the most invitations for a tight end in Cowboys history.

Sports Connection

Connecting you to your favorite North Texas sports teams as well as sports news around the globe.

Former AL MVP Josh Donaldson retires after 13 seasons

How much are F1 drivers paid? Here are the salaries for every driver in 2024

Davis will make his third straight, and Ratliff was tapped for the second straight year.

Tony Romo has thrown for more than 4,000 yards, but was bypassed in favor of the three quarterbacks with higher ratings than his 97.0: Drew Brees of New Orleans, Minnesota's Brett Favre and Green Bay's Aaron Rodgers.

The Pro Bowl will be played in Miami on Jan. 31, one week before the Super Bowl is held there.

Copyright AP - Associated Press
Contact Us