New North Texas Mayors Elected

Voters in North Texas' two biggest cities showed up at the polls on Saturday to elect new mayors in runoff elections in Dallas and Fort Worth.

Former Dallas homeless czar Mike Rawlings collected 56 percent of the vote, with 99 percent of precincts reported, in defeating former Dallas Police Chief David Kunkle, who conceded about 9:30 p.m.

Rawlings has been chief executive of three companies and pledged to improve economic development in Dallas. He defeated Kunkle, a former assistant city manager in Arlington, who had more name recognition and touted his record of reducing crime.

"I think Dallas wants to be optimistic about its future. I think they want a leader who has clear visions about big ideas like education," Rawlings said. "I think we've got to get our City Council aligned around the strategic initiatives we're talking about. I'm going to be starting immediately on how we work with DISD on education, and we're going to be working on the budget."

Kunkle called Rawlings to offer his congratulations and support, and said via Twitter: "I believe he will be a great mayor for Dallas."

The Dallas mayor's seat was vacated by Tom Leppert earlier this year when he announced he would run in 2012 for the U.S. Senate seat held by retiring Republican Kay Bailey Hutchison.

In Fort Worth, former tax assessor Betsy Price collected 56 percent of the vote, with 96 percent of precincts reported, on her way to defeating former City Council member Jim Lane. Price declared victory Saturday night, saying Lane conceded defeat.

Price has pledged to cut city spending. Lane had claimed to have the most municipal government experience.

Price succeeds Mike Moncrief, who decided not to seek reelection after eight years in office.

Irving's new mayor will be Beth Van Duyne, who won with 57 percent of the votes to Herbert Gears' 43 percent.

For complete election results, click here.

Contact Us