North Texas Incumbents Heading Back to DC

Texas delegation remains in Republican control

Here's a snapshot of the local elections.

Sen. John Cornyn grabbed 55% of the vote to Democrat Rick Noriega's 43% and Libertarian Yvonne Schick's 2%.

Rep. Sam Johnson (R) will return to congress taking 60% of his vote over challengers Tom Daley(D) and Christoper Claytor (L).

Rep. Ralph Hall (R) wins with 67% of the vote over challengers Glenn Melancon (D) and Fred Annett (L).

District 6 Rep. Joe Barton, R-Arlington, drew 60% of the vote. Ludwig Otto, a Tarrant County College English professor, was getting 38%. Libertarian Max Koch, a Mansfield construction consultant, was coming in third with 2 percent.

District 12 Rep. Kay Granger, a former Fort Worth mayor, grabbed 68%. Democrat Tracey Smith, a former newspaper and TV reporter turned real estate broker, took in 31% and Libertarian Shiloh Sidney Shambaugh received 2%

District 13 Rep. Mac Thornberry takes 77% of the vote to win against Roger Waun (D). District 17 Chet Edwards (D), once considered an Obama VP candidate wins with 53% over Rob Curnock (R) and Gardner Osborne (L).

District 24 Rep. Kenny Marchant, R-Coppell, heads back to Washington with 56% of the vote. Democrat Tom Love, a financial services supervisor drew 41%, while Libertarian David A. Casey, grabbed 3%.

District 26 Rep. Michael Burgess, R-Lewisville, heads back to DC for a fourth term with 60%. Democrat Ken Leach had 37% with Libertarian Stephanie Weiss was coming in third with 3%.

District 30 Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D) of Dallas trounced her opponents taking 83% of the vote. Republican Fred Wood had 16% and Libertarian Janet Woods had 2% of the vote.

District 31 Republican John Carter wins with 60% of the vote. Democrat Brian Riuz grabbed 37% and Libertarian Barry Cooper received 3%.

District 32 Rep. Pete Sessions returns to Washington with 57% of the vote. Democrat Eric Roberson takes 41% and Libertarian Alex Bischoff gets 2%.

Copyright AP - Associated Press
Contact Us