Betsy Price Wins Unprecedented 5th Term as Fort Worth Mayor

Election Results: See All Races Here


Incumbent Betsy Price defeated Deborah Peoples and James McBride to win her fifth term as Fort Worth mayor.

In a city that has no term limits, Price is now the longest-serving mayor in Fort Worth history.

"Our priorities will stay the same that we've had success with," Price said. "That's working on education, transportation, infrastructure and bringing jobs, recruiting jobs for this city."

Peoples said she knew she could never match Price's campaign warchest and had to depend on people to spread her message.

She said she was proud of her campaign.

"We were able to stay on message," Peoples said. "Fort Worth has issues. There's a problem with the tax base. There's a problem with transportation. There's a problem with transparency."

City Council

Fort Worth voters were also asked to consider eight City Council seats, though candidates in District 2 and 9 were running unopposed.

In District 3, incumbent Brian Byrd defeated challenger Tanner Smith to win his second term, while in District 4 incumbent Cary Moon bested Max Striker to earn his third.

In District 5, incumbent Gyna Bivens beat four challengers to retain her seat. In District 6, longtime councilman Jungus Jordan faced two challengers to win his eighth term. Jordan, first elected in June 2005, has represented the district for 14 years.

Incumbent Dennis Shingleton topped two challengers vying for his District 7 seat. Shingleton has been on the city council since 2011 and sought his fifth term. In District 8, Kelly Allen Gray won her fourth term since being first sworn in on July 10, 2012.

ISD Trustees

In District 2, Fort Worth ISD Board President Tobi Jackson earned another term; Jackson has been on the board since 2010. In District 3, Quinton Phillips beat Cleveland Harris to fill the seat vacated by Christene Chadwick Moss. Moss was first elected to represent District 3 in 1990.

In District 5, Judy Needham opted not to seek reelection. C.J. Evans won against Carla Morton to replace Needham.

In District 6, 2nd Vice President Ann Sutherland opted to retire and not run for reelection. Anne Darr had Sutherland's endorsement, and topped two other challengers to win the seat.

NBC 5's Scott Gordon contributed to this report.

Contact Us