Dallas County

Dallas, Fort Worth, Arlington Among Mayoral Races on May 4 Ballot

May 4 is Election Day -- early voting is underway through Tuesday, April 30

There are more than a dozen mayoral races up for grabs on ballots in cities across North Texas. Cities with mayoral races are listed below along with the candidates in the order they'll appear on the ballot. Candidates must win more than 50 percent of the vote to win or face a run-off June 8; run-offs are between the two candidates receiving the most votes.

It's been a long time since Dallas voters haven't had the name Mike Rawlings on the ballot. There are nine people hoping to be the next mayor of Dallas and the race is very likely to end up in a runoff.

Ahead of the beginning of early voting, The Dallas Morning News recommended Dallas voters support one of three candidates: Eric Johnson, a state representative representing Dallas; Lynn McBee, the chief executive of the women's preparatory network; and Miguel Solis, trustee for the Dallas ISD.

In Fort Worth Mayor Besty Price is looking for her unprecedented fifth, two-year term. Her main opponent is Tarrant County Democratic Chairwoman Deborah Peoples. Price and Peoples were interviewed on Sunday's episode of Lone Star Politics (see below).

This week on Lone Star Politics, outgoing Dallas Mayor Mike Rawlings on what’s next, his thoughts on his greatest accomplishments and what he wishes he could change from his eight years in office. Plus for the first time Mayor Betsy Price and challenger Deborah Peoples are together to answer questions about the future of Fort Worth and why each deserves your vote on May 4. Watch Lone Star Politics, Sunday at 8:30 a.m. on NBC 5.
When this week's Lone Star Politics ended, the conversation between Fort Worth Mayor Betsy Price and Mayoral Candidate Deborah Peoples continued They discussed everything from improving race and cultural relations to the neighborhood enhancement program and the future of the Panther Island project.

In Arlington, Mayor Jeff Williams is facing off against three challengers, educator/minister Ruby Faye Woolridge, teacher Chris "Dobi" Dobson and restauranteur Ashton Stauffer. Woolridge recently ran for another office, U.S. Rep. District 6, last fall. Williams has been in office since he was first elected in May 2015.

Local mayoral races for the May 4 election are listed below.

  Joe Chow
  Blake Clemens

  Mike Basovan
  Bruce Pinckard

  Ashton Stauffer
  Chris Dobson
  Ruby Woolridge
  Jeff Williams

  Alan Brundrett
  Joe Lieb

Balch Springs
  Steven Gorwood
  Carrie Marshall

Blue Mound
  Alan Hooks
  Manuel Enriquez

Cedar Hill
  Jami McCain
  Stephen Mason

Copper Canyon
  Sue Tejml
  Ron Robertson

  Lynn McBee
  Jason Villalba
  Scott Griggs
  Mike Ablon
  Miguel Solis
  Alyson Kennedy
  Regina Montoya
  Eric Johnson
  Albert Black

  Curtistene McCowan
  Rachel Proctor
  Byron Sanders

Edgecliff Village
  Janell Britton
  Mickey Rigney

  Daniel Longoria
  Ray Richardson

  Henry Lessner
  Jon Cocks

  Lorney Megyesi
  Joe Burger

Forest Hill
  Marcus Brookins
  Stephanie Boardingham
  Lyndia Thomas
  Gerald Joubert

Fort Worth
  Betsy Price
  Deborah Peoples
  James McBride

Grand Prairie
  Angela Luckey
  Ron Jensen

Haltom City
  Bob Watkins
  Trae Fowler
  An Truong

  John Wayne Pruitt
  Philip Veltman

  Ed VanderVeen
  Cammy Jackson
  Richard Reno
  David Capeheart Jr

  Tammy Dana-Bashian
  Robbert van Bloemendaal

  James Burgess
  Laurna Guidry-Shaw

  David Griffin
  Art Miner

Willow Park
  Gene Martin
  Doyle Moss

Contact Us