Three Cowboys Among List of 2011 College Football HOF Inductees - NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth
Blue Star
The center of the Dallas Cowboys universe

Three Cowboys Among List of 2011 College Football HOF Inductees



    Of the 16 players announced for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame on Monday, three have ties to the Dallas Cowboys.

    Former Cowboys Eddie George, Russell Maryland and Deion Sanders are among those set to be enshrined as part of the 2011 class in a ceremony on July, 15 in South Bend, Indiana.

    Sanders was a two-time All American at Florida State, before going onto a Hall of Fame career in the NFL with the Atlanta Falcons, San Francisco 49ers, Dallas Cowboys, Washington Redskins and Baltimore Ravens.

    Maryland won two National Championships and an Outland Trophy with the Miami Hurricanes before being selected first overall by the Cowboys in 1991. With Dallas, Maryland would win two Super Bowl Championships before moving onto stints with the Raiders and the Packers.

    George won the Heisman Trophy, the Doak Walker Award and the Max Walker Award as a senior at Ohio State in 1995. He went on to flourish with the Houston Oilers/Tennessee Titans in the NFL. He spent one largely unsuccessful season with the Cowboys in 2004 before calling it a career.

    Other notable inductees include former Michigan coach Lloyd Carr, former University of Texas defensive lineman Doug English and Nebraska guard Will Shields.

    Stay on top of the latest Dallas Cowboys news with Follow NBC DFW Sports on Facebook or have breaking Cowboys news sent directly to your phone with Blue Star SMS alerts. Text "bluestar" to 622339 (NBCDFW) to subscribe to this free service.  Read more about it here.