Pearson to be Inducted into Ring of Honor - NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth
Blue Star
The center of the Dallas Cowboys universe

Pearson to be Inducted into Ring of Honor



    Drew Pearson, Charles Haley and Larry Allen will be inducted into the Dallas Cowboys Ring of Honor Nov. 6.

    The ring honors former players, coaches and management for making outstanding contributions to the club.  All three players will enter the ring during the same ceremony during halftime of the Cowboys-Seahawks matchup.   Read more on Allen and Haley here.

    Pearson, 60, played for the Cowboys for his entire career between 1973 and 1983 under head coach Tom Landry. The Original 88 had 489 receptions for 7,822 yards with 48 touchdowns while averaging 16 yards per catch. In his 11-year career, Pearson also had 21 rushing attempts for 189 yards -- averaging 9 yards per carry.

    He played in three Super Bowls (X, XII and XIII), winning one (XII), and was selected to the NFL 1970s All Decade Team after being elected to the Pro Bowl three times.

    Pearson: Ring of Honor Inspired Me

    [DFW] Pearson: Ring of Honor Inspired Me
    Former Dallas Cowboy Drew Pearson talks about what the Ring of Honor means him.
    (Published Wednesday, Aug. 10, 2011)

    The Original 88 is perhaps best known, along with former quarterback Roger Staubach, for the original Hail Mary pass that resulted in a 17-14 win over the Minnesota Vikings.  Staubach tossed up a desperation pass in Pearson's direction from his own 15-yard-line, which he later described as a Hail Mary.  Pearson, also known as "Mr. Clutch," trapped the ball against his hip and backed into the endzone for what would be the game-winning touchdown.

    Pearson, who attended college at the University of Tulsa, also co-hosts NBC 5's Out of Bounds with Newy Scruggs during the football season and is the general manager of the IFL's Allen Wranglers.

    To date, the Cowboys have enshrined 17 people into the Ring of Honor, 15 being players. The induction will be the first conducted in Cowboys Stadium. The last inductees were Troy Aikman, Michael Irvin and Emmitt Smith at Texas Stadium in 2005.

    Drew Pearson on Drew Pearson

    [DFW] Drew Pearson on Drew Pearson
    Get to know Cowboys great Drew Pearson in the Last Call.
    (Published Thursday, Sept. 16, 2010)

    Pearson said Friday that he's asked to be on the side of the stadium with the older players and the guys he came up with, with no disrespect intended to Aikman, Smith and Irvin.

    Stay on top of the latest Dallas Cowboys news with Follow NBC DFW Sports on FacebookBlue Star Blog on Twitter @BlueStarBlog, or have breaking Cowboys news sent directly to your phone with Blue Star SMS alerts. Text "bluestar" to 622339 (NBCDFW) to subscribe to this free service. Read more about it here.