Dak Prescott Named Offensive Rookie of the Year - NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth
Blue Star
The center of the Dallas Cowboys universe

Dak Prescott Named Offensive Rookie of the Year



    Dak Prescott Named Offensive Rookie of the Year
    Getty Images
    ARLINGTON, TX - DECEMBER 18: Dak Prescott #4 of the Dallas Cowboys celebrates after scoring a touchdown during the second quarter against the Tampa Bay Buccaneers at AT&T Stadium on December 18, 2016 in Arlington, Texas. (Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images)

    Dak Prescott has won a two-man race with Dallas teammate Ezekiel Elliott to take the 2016 Associated Press NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year award.

    The Cowboys' fourth-round draft pick stepped in when quarterback Tony Romo was injured in the preseason and led Dallas to a 13-3 record, best in the NFC. He got plenty of help from his running back, Elliott, the fourth overall selection.

    In balloting announced Saturday night, Prescott received 28 1/2 votes from a nationwide panel of 50 media members who regularly cover the league. The other 21 1/2 went to Elliott, who rushed for a league-high 1,631 yards and scored 15 times. Prescott ranked third in passing behind the two Super Bowl quarterbacks, throwing for 23 TDs with four interceptions.

    Prescott is the first Cowboy since Emmitt Smith in 1990 to earn the honor. Tony Dorsett, Duane Thomas and Calvin Hill also won it for Dallas.

    Get the latest from NBC DFW anywhere, anytime

    • Download the App

      Available for IOS and Android