Overton Disqualified At Colonial For Using Putting Aid

Saturday, May 25, 2013  |  Updated 4:20 PM CDT
View Comments (
)
|
Email
|
Print
Overton Disqualified At Colonial For Using Putting Aid

NBC 5

Jeff Overton was disqualified midway through the third round of the Colonial on Saturday for illegally using a putting aid during play.

PGA Tour officials say Overton used an aid on a nearby practice green after playing the ninth hole while waiting to tee off at No. 10. 

Going to the practice area is permissible during a round, but use of artificial or instructional devices isn't. The penalty is disqualification.

Rules official Mark Russell says it's unfortunate but that the rule is "clear as day."

Overton was 4 under for the tournament, seven strokes off the lead, when a PGA Tour official approached Overton after he teed off at the 11th hole. Russell says another player had asked officials about the use of the device.

Get the latest headlines sent to your inbox!
View Comments (
)
|
Email
|
Print
Leave Comments
Follow Us
Sign up to receive news and updates that matter to you.
Send Us Your Story Tips
Check Out