The 10 Most Disappointing Seasons in Cowboys' History

Let’s go back to Sept. 2. I’m offering this:

On Dec. 2 I can guarantee that the Cowboys’ NFC East opponents – Giants, Redskins and Eagles – all have losing records. You unequivocally take that deal, right?

Of course you do. With the Cowboys coming off a 12-4 season and with the additions of Sean Lee, Greg Hardy and Byron Jones on defense and an offense sporting elite weapons at quarterback, tight end, receiver and all along the offensive line, you’d expect that scenario to lead to a healthy divisional lead if not another NFC East championship banner as an early Christmas present.

And that’s precisely why this – a year in which the Cowboys are failing to take advantage of the juiciest divisional opportunity in years – is one of the most disappointing seasons in franchise history.

A look at the 10 biggest bummers:

  • 10. 1989 – The promising arrivals of Jerry Jones, Jimmy Johnson and Troy Aikman bring a historically horrible 1-15 season.
  • 9. 1986 – The hype of the Dynamic Duo backfield of Herschel Walker and Tony Dorsett ends meekly at 7-9.
  • 8. 2010 – Coming off a division championship and adding Dez Bryant, Tony Romo’s early-season injury spirals the season to 6-10.
  • 7. 2015 – Super Bowl hopes after a 12-4 season and a 2-0 start crumble along with Tony Romo’s collarbone.
  • 6. 2007 – The best offense in franchise history fuels a 13-3 season and home-field advantage throughout the NFC Playoffs, only to waste it with a shocking four-point loss to the Giants in the first round.
  • 5. 1978 – Attempting to win back-to-back championships, they go 12-2 in the regular season but lose Super Bowl 13 to the rival Steelers by four points.
  • 4. 1981 – A 12-4 season is eternally ruined by “The Catch”.
  • 3. 1970 – After four successful regular seasons with a combined 42-12-2 record each ends in playoff heartbreak, the knockout blow is a three-point loss on a field goal in the final seconds to the Colts in Super Bowl 5.
  • 2. 1967 – After losing to the Packers in the final minute of the NFL Championship Game the year before, this season of high hopes freezes bitterly in the Ice Bowl.
  • 1. 1994 – With The Triplets in their prime and Barry Switzer at the helm, they waste a chance at a Four-Peat with a gut-wrenching loss to the 49ers in the NFC Championship Game.

A native Texan who was born in Duncanville and graduated from UT-Arlington, Richie Whitt has been a mainstay in the Metroplex media since 1986. He’s held prominent roles on all media platforms including newspaper (Fort Worth Star-Telegram, Dallas Observer), radio (105.3 The Fan) and TV (co-host on TXA 21 and numerous guest appearances, including NBC 5). He lives in McKinney with his wife, Sybil, and two very spoiled dogs.

Copyright FREEL - NBC Local Media
Contact Us