Rangers' Michael Young Wins Gold Glove

Young led AL shortstops in fielding

Rangers shortstop Michael Young has been selected to the 2008 American League Rawlings Gold Glove Team.

It is the first time Young won a Gold Glove Award.

The Rawlings Gold Gloves are presented for defensive excellence in voting conducted by American League managers and coaches.

Young led all American League shortstops with a .984 fielding percentage, second in the majors behind only Philadelphia's Jimmy Rollins.

Young led all shortstops with 113 double plays, and ranked second in the majors in assists (465) and total chances (669).

The Rangers shortstop is the first infielder ever to win a Rawlings Gold Glove Award while playing on a team that registered the lowest fielding percentage in the majors, this dating to the inaugural awards in 1958.

In his career, the five-time All-Star has been the A.L. batting champion, All-Star Game MVP, and Marvin Miller Man of the Year.


Position Player Team

P Mike Mussina New York

C Joe Mauer Minnesota

1B Carlos Pena Tampa Bay

2B Dustin Pedroia Boston

3B Adrian Beltre Seattle

SS Michael Young Texas

OF Torii Hunter LA of Anaheim

OF Grady Sizemore Cleveland

OF Ichiro Suzuki Seattle

Contact Us