Pro Bowl Draft: Team Irvin Lands (Almost) All the Cowboys

Six of the seven Cowboys Pro Bowlers will play for Team Irvin in Sunday's Pro Bowl

For the Dallas Cowboys fans who actually tune into the Pro Bowl on Sunday, Team Irvin will have a very familiar feel.

Michael Irvin’s team drafted six of seven of the Cowboys in the Pro Bowl, and made quarterback Tony Romo their top pick. They also picked up tight end Jason Witten, left tackle Tyron Smith, center Travis Frederick and right guard Zack Martin. DeMarco Murray was named a captain on Team Irvin, so he didn’t have to be drafted, and the team will be coached by the Dallas staff.

Long snapper LP LaDouceur is the only Cowboy who will play for Cris Carter’s squad.

It’s going to be great because it just brings that continuity,” Frederick said, per Todd Archer of ESPN Dallas. “Even if we’re not exactly running our playbook it’s at least the same terminology. It’s a lot of the stuff we will have heard before.”

Sunday will mark a reunion of sorts for the six Cowboys on Team Irvin--except for Martin, who wasn't with the team in 2013--as they also picked up longtime Cowboys pass rusher DeMarcus Ware, who departed for Denver last offseason.

“Actually [defensive coordinator Rod Marinelli] came to me and he said, ‘Do you have any rushes left in you? Let’s get to the quarterback this week,’ so I know he’s excited,” Ware said. “He takes his game to a whole other level. Whenever he’s out there able to coach it’s a game and he said, ‘I am going to be on the winning team. I’m not going to lose.’”

Stay on top of the latest Dallas Cowboys news with Follow NBC DFW on Facebook or have breaking Cowboys news sent directly to your phone with Blue Star SMS alerts. Text "bluestar" to 622339 (NBCDFW) to subscribe, text HELP for more info, and text STOP to end the subscription. Message and data rates may apply.Read more about it here.

Copyright FREEL - NBC Local Media
Contact Us