Some Notes About the Elite 8

Here are just some little tidbits about the Elite 8, which begins tonight:

  • Never has all four #1 seeds advanced to the Final Four (they all are still alive)
  • The only remaining coaches that have won a National Championship are Rick Pitino and Roy Williams. They face off against each other tonight.
  • Xavier's Sean Miller and Davidson's Bob McKillop will be making their first Elite 8 appearances. The others have all been there before.
  • Louisville and UNC play in the men's tournament at 9:00pm tonight in Charlotte. The women's team will face off in the women's tournament at noon in New Orleans.

  • This is UCLA's third straight Elite 8. They won the last two times.
  • Sports Connection

    Connecting you to your favorite North Texas sports teams as well as sports news around the globe.

    Miyu Kato loses women's doubles money for accidentally hitting ball kid but can play mixed doubles

    Rangers pitcher Jacob deGrom to undergo season-ending Tommy John surgery

  • This is Memphis' third straight Elite 8. They lost the last two times.
  • Half of last year's Elite 8 is back.
  • When Roy Williams was at Kansas and Rick Pitino was at Kentucky, Kansas beat Kentucky 150-95 back in 1989.
  • The last South Region champion to win the entire tournament was Kentucky in 1998.

  • The last time the Detroit area held a regional final, their champ won the tournament (Michigan State, 2000).
  • Davidson is a #10 seed. If you add up the value of the other seven team's seeds ... you'd get the number 12.
  • The winner of the "best conference contest" goes to ... the Big XII?
  • There is one team each from the ACC, Big East, Conference USA, Pac-10, Atlantic-10 and Southern Conferences. There are two Big XII teams left.
  • There are no SEC or Big Ten teams remaining.

  • UNC's Tyler Hansbrough is trying to become the first Player of the Year award winner to win the National Championship in the same year since Duke's Shane Battier did it in 2001.
  • This is only the second time UCLA and Xavier have met. The Bruins beat the Muskies in the 1997 tournament.
  • UCLA has more National Championships (11) than the other seven schools combined (8).
  • Half of the Elite Eight has never won a title (Memphis, Texas, Davidson and Xavier).
  • Permalink | Email this | Linking Blogs | Comments

    Copyright FANHO - FanHouse
    Contact Us