Obama Declares Disaster in 4 Texas Counties

President Barack Obama has declared a major disaster in four Texas counties, including the county where Houston is located, that suffered severe flooding after heavy rainfall last week.

The declaration covers Harris County, home to Houston, along with Fayette, Grimes and Parker counties.

It enables residents to received federal grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency says damage surveys continue and more counties could be added to the declaration.

More than a foot of rain fell on Houston and nearby counties last week, straining reservoirs, pushing rivers over their banks and claiming eight lives.

Copyright AP - Associated Press
Contact Us