Muleshoe Wins Class 2A D-1 Title at Gopher Bowl

Mules, 15-0, win first state title 48-26 over Kirbyville.

Wes Wood threw for three touchdowns and ran for another to lead Muleshoe to a 48-26 win over Kirbyville in the Class 2A Division I championship game.

The 15-0 Mules won their first state title, taking all five playoff games by at least 14 points. The 13-1 Wildcats lost in their first championship appearance.

Muleshoe scored 27 consecutive points in the second half after Kirbyville narrowed a 14-point deficit to 21-20 on LeFrederick Ford's 19-yard run with 5:46 left in the third quarter.

Lane Wood gave Muleshoe some breathing room with an 18-yard scoring run, then Wes Wood ran 42 yards up the middle to put the Mules ahead 34-21 with 9:49 remaining.

Wes Wood followed with a 6-yard scoring pass to Victor Vasquez, leaving Wood just three touchdown passes shy of Graham Harrell's state record. The Texas Tech quarterback passed for 67 TDs at Ennis in 2003. Wood was 11-of-25 passing for 230 yards.

Lane Wood provided the final margin on a 31-yard run with 3:31 remaining.

Muleshoe scored 27 points off four Kirbyville turnovers and had seven plays of more than 30 yards.

Kirbyville quarterback Aaron Hazlewood completed 14 of 29 passes for 245 yards and one touchdown with three interceptions. The touchdown was to Randy Musgrove, who had seven catches 94 yards.

Copyright AP - Associated Press
Contact Us