Sean Lee Nominated for Rooney Sportsmanship Award - NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth
Blue Star
The center of the Dallas Cowboys universe

Sean Lee Nominated for Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Field of 32 to be whittled to eight by committee of former players



    Sean Lee Nominated for Rooney Sportsmanship Award
    Dallas Cowboys linebacker Sean Lee.

    Dallas Cowboys linebacker Sean Lee is among the 32 players nominated for the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award.

    Each team nominates one player for the award, which recognizes NFL players who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field -- including fair play, respect for the game and opponents and integrity in competition.

    Former NFL players will whittle the list to eight, four representatives from each conference. From there, current players will vote on the winner.

    The award was created during the 2014 season to honor the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers, and Pro Football Hall of Famer, Art Rooney Sr.

    The first winner was Arizona Cardinals wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald.

    The winner of the award will be announced at NFL Honors before Super Bowl 50. In addition to the award, $25,000 will be donated from the NFL Foundation to the charity of his choice.

    The full list of nominees is below:

    Arizona Cardinals -- DT Calais Campbell
    Atlanta Falcons -- CB Desmond Trufant
    Baltimore Ravens -- RB Justin Forsett
    Buffalo Bills -- QB Tyrod Taylor
    Carolina Panthers -- LB Luke Kuechly
    Chicago Bears -- RB Matt Forté
    Cincinnati Bengals -- LB Vinny Rey
    Cleveland Browns -- QB Josh McCown
    Dallas Cowboys -- LB Sean Lee
    Denver Broncos -- WR Demaryius Thomas
    Detroit Lions -- WR Calvin Johnson
    Green Bay Packers -- LB Julius Peppers
    Houston Texans -- T Duane Brown
    Indianapolis Colts -- QB Matt Hasselbeck
    Jacksonville Jaguars -- DT Sen'Derrick Marks
    Kansas City Chiefs -- LB Derrick Johnson
    Miami Dolphins -- DT Earl Mitchell
    Minnesota Vikings -- LB Chad Greenway
    New England Patriots -- T Nate Solder
    New Orleans Saints -- TE Benjamin Watson
    New York Giants -- RB Rashad Jennings
    New York Jets -- LB David Harris
    Oakland Raiders -- S Charles Woodson
    Philadelphia Eagles -- LB DeMeco Ryans
    Pittsburgh Steelers -- CB William Gay
    San Diego Chargers -- QB Philip Rivers
    San Francisco 49ers -- T Joe Staley
    Seattle Seahawks -- WR Jermaine Kearse
    St. Louis Rams -- DT Aaron Donald
    Tampa Bay Buccaneers -- DT Gerald McCoy
    Tennessee Titans -- CB Jason McCourty
    Washington Redskins -- RB Alfred Morris