Cowboys Name 2014 Team Captains

Two of the Cowboys' five team captains have never held that title before

Your Dallas Cowboys team captains for the 2014 season are QB Tony Romo, TE Jason Witten, S Barry Church, LB Justin Durant and K Dan Bailey.

Romo, Witten and Bailey have experience as team captains, but both defensive captains are new to the role. Last year, the Cowboys’ defensive captains were DeMarcus Ware and Sean Lee. Ware is a Bronco, of course, and Sean Lee will miss 2014 with a torn ACL, suffered on the first day of OTAs.

Last year, in his first full season as a starter--his 2012 campaign was cut short by a torn Achilles--Church led the team with 133 tackles, to go along with three forced fumbles and an interception. For his effort, he was named the Cowboys’ defensive MVP for the 2013 season.

“An undrafted free agent that’s come in here and told us he needs to make this football team and shows us every day he deserves to be a part of that,” Garrett said of Church. “Everything we’ve asked him to do since he’s been here, he’s always overproduced.”

The biggest surprise of the group, without question, is Durant, a former second round pick who came over on a two-year deal last March.

“Justin’s really taken the bull by the horns and shown us that he needs to be the leader of that defense,” Garrett said. “He’s very comfortable making calls, making adjustments and maybe more than anything else, he does it with his play every day in practice. In the preseason games, he brings it and again, guys gravitate towards that and really respect that.”

Stay on top of the latest Dallas Cowboys news with Follow NBC DFW on Facebook or have breaking Cowboys news sent directly to your phone with Blue Star SMS alerts. Text "bluestar" to 622339 (NBCDFW) to subscribe, text HELP for more info, and text STOP to end the subscription. Message and data rates may apply.Read more about it here.

Copyright FREEL - NBC Local Media
Contact Us