Federal Disaster Declared for 6 Texas Counties Hit by Imelda - NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth
Texas News

Texas News

News from around the state of Texas

Federal Disaster Declared for 6 Texas Counties Hit by Imelda



    NBC 5 Forecast: One More Decent Chance for Rain
    Thomas B. Shea/Getty Images
    Cars pull to the side of the freeway of highway 69 North to get by the flood waters on Sept. 19, 2019, in Houston, Texas. Gov. Greg Abbott has declared much of Southeast Texas disaster areas after heavy rain and flooding from the remnants of Tropical Depression Imelda dumped more than two feet of water across some areas.

    Texas officials say a federal disaster declaration has been granted for six Southeast Texas counties that sustained severe flooding caused last month by the remnants of Tropical Storm Imelda.

    Gov. Greg Abbott says the disaster declaration will help provide federal aid for residents in Chambers, Harris, Jefferson, Liberty, Montgomery, and Orange counties.

    The declaration means residents can apply for individual assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

    Imelda's remnants dumped more than 40 inches of rain in some spots in the days after the storm made landfall on Sept. 17. The flooding was blamed for at least five deaths.

    Imelda Leaves 4 Dead, Others Stranded and Trapped

    [DFW] Imelda Leaves 4 Dead, Others Stranded and Trapped

    The slow-churning remnants of Tropical Storm Imelda that flooded parts of Texas left at least four people dead and rescue crews scrambling to reach stranded drivers and families trapped in homes.

    (Published Friday, Sept. 20, 2019)

    Jefferson County Judge Jeff Branick tells the Beaumont Enterprise that his county had 6,000 flooded homes.

    In Harris County, where Houston is located, over 2,500 homes were flooded.

    Get the latest from NBC DFW anywhere, anytime

    • Download the App

      Available for IOS and Android