Fireworks Restrictions in North Texas - NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth

Celebrate your Independence Day this July 4, 2012

Fireworks Restrictions in North Texas

North Texas cities continue ban on fireworks



    Fireworks Restrictions in North Texas
    Although setting off fireworks is a customary Fourth of July activity, the practice is prohibited within many major North Texas cities.

    Fourth of July festivities and fun are at the top of everyone’s list as Independence Day draws near. Backyard cookouts, parades and fireworks are the customary celebratory activities for this anticipated holiday, but for many North Texas residents, fireworks are not an option.

    "We don't want to discourage anyone from enjoying the holiday; we just want to remind people that Texas is still prone to wildfire danger," said Texas Forest Service Wildland Urban Interface and Prevention Coordinator Justice Jones in a statement.

    The Texas Forest Service suggests these tips to ensure safety and prevent fires:

    • Check for and obey furn bans and fireworks restrictions
    • Keep water nearby just in case a fire starts. It doesn't take much of a spark or burning ember to ignite dry, fine-textured fuels like grass and weeds
    • Read and follow label instruction on how to properly discharge fireworks
    • Only use fireworks with close adult supervision
    • Use fireworks only in areas clear of dead, dry grass and weeds
    • Avoid using fireworks, particularly aerial varieties, around buildings. Winds can carry hot fireworks onto roofs where leaves or other flammable debris may have accumulated.

    Although many burn bans have been lifted throughout the region, fireworks may still be prohibited. Below is a list of cities that prohibit the discharge of fireworks.

    Dallas County
    Dallas, DeSoto, Duncanville, Garland, Grand Prairie, Highland Park, Irving and Richardson.

    Tarrant County
    Arlington, Fort Worth and North Richland Hills

    Collin County
    Allen, Frisco, McKinney, Midlothian, Plano, Waxahachie and Wylie

    Burn bans continue to be in effect in Wise County and Palo Pinto County, and Ellis County enacted a 90-day burn ban beginning June 25.

    This list is subject to change. Burn bans and fireworks restrictions are determined by county government and city ordinances.

    For more information on fireworks bans, visit your county's website.