Applications Accepted For Harold Taft Scholarship - NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth

Applications Accepted For Harold Taft Scholarship



    Applications Accepted For Harold Taft Scholarship
    Harold Taft, NBC 5 Chief Meteorologist, 1949-1991

    NBC 5 and the Lone Star Emmy Educational Foundation are now accepting applicants for the Harold Taft Scholarship.  The deadline is Monday, June 16, 2014.

    The program is named in memory of Harold Taft, who served as Chief Meteorologist at KXAS-TV from 1949 until 1991.  
    NBC 5 Chief Meteorologist David Finfrock, a protege' of Taft, serves as the Scholarship Chairman.
    To be considered for a scholarship, a student must meet the following eligibility requirements:
    - Any undergraduate (going into their junior year or higher in the fall) may apply. If the undergraduate student is classified as a senior they must either have one more spring (January-May) semester to complete after the scholarship is awarded.
    - The student must be in good standing (not on academic probation) with a minimum 2.5 GPA.
    - The student must study Meteorology, Atmospheric Science or a related field.
    - The student must (a) be enrolled in a Texas institution of higher learning or (b) have attended four years of high school in Texas.
    Click on this sentence for a link to the scholarship application.
    Past recipients include KOB-TV Meteorologist and Texas A&M University graduate Jorge Torres, University of Oklahoma graduate Lauryn Gonzalez and Texas A&M University students Ayrton Bryan, Amanda Robinson and Joshua Johns. Johns, a native of Godley, won the award in 2013.
    Winners will be announced in September 2014.  They are eligible for a $2000 scholarship sent directly to the winner or winners' university.  
    Winners will be invited to attend the Lone Star Emmy Awards Gala in November 2014.