North Texans Kershaw and Kluber Win Cy Young Awards

Two North Texans take home Major League Baseball's Cy Young Awards Wednesday. Highland Park High School's Clayton Kershaw took the National League award with a unanimous vote. Coppell High School's Corey Kluber took the American League award.

Clayton Kershaw NL Cy Young Winner

Los Angeles Dodgers ace Kershaw pitched a shutout Wednesday, a unanimous winner for his third NL Cy Young Award after leading the majors in victories and ERA and throwing a no-hitter.

Now, the big question: Is he the Most Valuable Player, too?

The 26-year-old lefty with a wicked curveball will find out Thursday if he's the first NL pitcher to sweep the MVP and Cy Young honors since Bob Gibson in 1968.

Kershaw went 21-3 with a 1.77 ERA for the NL West champions.

As expected, Kershaw earned the pitching prize for the second year in a row, getting all 30 first-place votes in balloting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America announced Wednesday.

Sports Connection

Connecting you to your favorite North Texas sports teams as well as sports news around the globe.

Chiefs' Isaiah Buggs arrested on charge of domestic violence/burglary in Alabama

Logan Gilbert strikes out 9, surging Mariners sweep Rangers

"Pretty cool," Kershaw said after the MLB Network telecast.

Johnny Cueto of Cincinnati was second in the Cy Young voting and Adam Wainwright of St. Louis finished third. World Series MVP Madison Bumgarner of San Francisco was fourth.

"As far as the regular season is concerned, it was a ton of fun," Kershaw said.

Voting was completed before the start of the postseason. Kershaw went 0-2 with a 7.82 ERA in a Division Series loss to St. Louis, leaving him at 1-5 with a 5.12 ERA in his postseason career.

From the start, Kershaw was headed toward his third Cy Young in four seasons.

Kershaw won the major league season opener in Australia on March 22, then a strained upper back put him on the disabled list for the first time in his seven-year career.

Once he returned, he was nearly unbeatable -- and kept looking more and more like his friend, Dodgers Hall of Fame lefty Sandy Koufax.

Kershaw joined Koufax as one of nine pitchers with at least three Cy Youngs. Roger Clemens leads the list with seven.

The previous pitcher with a unanimous win was Detroit's Justin Verlander, who took the AL Cy Young and MVP in 2011. A year earlier, Philadelphia's Roy Halladay unanimously won the NL Cy Young.

Verlander is among six AL pitchers to take the Cy Young and MVP since Gibson's NL sweep nearly a half-century ago.

Kershaw became the first pitcher to lead the majors in ERA for four straight years. He topped baseball this season in complete games and was best among starters in strikeouts per nine innings and WHIP (walks plus hits per inning).

He struck out 239 in 198 1-3 innings, three behind NL co-leaders Stephen Strasburg and Cueto.

Kershaw's crowning achievement was the first no-hitter of his career, at Dodger Stadium against Colorado on June 18. Soon after, he was picked as an All-Star for the fourth time in a row.

Tim Lincecum had been the last NL pitcher to win back-to-back Cys, in 2008-09 for the Giants.

The Cy Young was first awarded in 1956. Up through the 1966 season, there was only one selection from both leagues. This Cy Young win brought Kershaw a $1 million bonus.

Corey Kluber AL Cy Young Winner

Cleveland's Kluber won the AL Cy Young Award, edging Seattle's Felix Hernandez.

Kluber received 17 of 30 first-place votes and 169 points in balloting announced Wednesday by the Baseball Writers' Association of America. Hernandez got 13 firsts and 159 points, and Chris Sale of the Chicago White Sox was third with 78 points.

A 28-year-old right-hander, Kluber went 18-9 with a 2.44 ERA in his first full major league season with 269 strikeouts, two behind league leader David Price. Kluber had consecutive 14-strikeout games in September, the first to accomplish the feat since Arizona's Randy Johnson in 2004.

Kluber, who gets a $10,000 bonus, became Cleveland's fourth Cy Young winner, joining Gaylord Perry (1972), CC Sabathia (2007) and Cliff Lee (2008).

Copyright AP - Associated Press
Contact Us