Newy: Joey Logano Has a Great Shot to Be NASCAR's Next Cup Champ

Joey Logano won the Daytona 500 in 2015. Now, he can cross off the next biggest accomplishment for a NASCAR Cup Series driver: winning the championship.

Kevin Harvick, Kyle Busch, Martin Truex, Jr. and Logano will race for the Cup championship in Miami at 2 p.m. (CT) Sunday on NBC 5 (and NASCAR Hot Pass on NBCSN).

Logano is the only driver in the Championship Four not to have won a Cup title.

He joined me this week on my NBC Sports Radio show and feels like he is the one to beat on Sunday at Miami-Homestead Speedway.

Click here to listen to our conversation with the driver of the #22 Shell Ford.

Kyle Busch is racing for a championship for the fourth consecutive year after failing to advance to the title race in 2014, the first year of the elimination format.

Kevin Harvick makes his fourth appearances in the championship race in five years. This is reigning champion Martin Truex Jr.’s third appearance. Joey Logano also makes his third appearance.

Sports Connection

Connecting you to your favorite North Texas sports teams as well as sports news around the globe.

Celtics back home with chance to clinch record 18th NBA championship​ on 617 Day

Who are the highest-paid US athletes annually? Shohei Ohtani, Jaylen Brown among list

The four drivers have combined to win more than 60 percent of the races this season — the first time the Championship 4 drivers have won more than half the races in a season in the elimination format according to

Contact Us