McCoy Earns Second Straight AP Big 12 POY Award

Texas quarterback Colt McCoy has been selected as The Associated Press Big 12 offensive player of the year for the second year in a row.

Nebraska defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh (en-DOM'-uh-ken soo) is the defensive player of the year.

Texas and Nebraska play Saturday night for the Big 12 championship.

McCoy has passed for 3,328 yards and 27 touchdowns. Suh had 15 tackles for losses and 6.5 sacks.

Kansas State running back Daniel Thomas is the offensive newcomer of the year. Defensive end Aldon Smith of Missouri was voted the top defensive newcomer.

The awards are selected by a panel of 20 newspaper reporters who regularly cover the Big 12 in the league's seven states.

Copyright AP - Associated Press
Contact Us