XFL Reveals Team Name, Dallas Renegades

The unnamed Dallas XFL team is unnamed no longer. The league revealed the team's name, the Renegades, and logo during a news conference Wednesday in Dallas.

The origin story behind the team's identity, the Renegades, was shared first in a short film that highlighted the following about North Texas: "Deep in the heart of Texas, beats a different kind of pulse. A spirit untamed. A swagger that can't be denied. Where big meets bold meets badass. This is outlaw country, inside the lines. This is hell on wheels, between hash marks. This is their home on the range. The Dallas Renegades."

The rebuilt league will be made up of eight teams: the Dallas Renegades, Houston Roughnecks, Los Angeles Wildcats, New York Guardians, St. Louis Battle Hawks, Seattle Dragons, Tampa Bay Vipers and Washington D.C. Defenders.[[557766301,C]]

"The XFL is about football and fun, and our team identities are intended to signify just that," said XFL President and COO, Jeffrey Pollack. "Now it's up to our fans and players to help write the story. What happens on the field and in the community, in the years ahead, will determine the true spirit of each team."

XFL Commissioner Oliver Luck announced in February that the team will be coached and managed by former OU head coach Bob Stoops. Former Dallas Stars vice president of corporate partnerships has been named the team's president.

XFL Reveals Team Names, Logos for League Relaunch

The team will play five home games in Arlington, at the soon-to-be-retrofit Globe Life Park. The stadium's current occupant will move across the street to their new home, Globe Life Field, next season.

The XFL will kick off in Feb. 8-9, 2020, the weekend after the NFL's Super Bowl.

Contact Us