Bryant, Witten Named Co-Offensive MVPs

Dez Bryant and Jason Witten were named co-offensive MVPs for the 2012 season at the kickoff luncheon Wednesday

Tight end Jason Witten and wide receiver Dez Bryant were named co-Offensive MVPs for the 2012 season at the Dallas Cowboys Kickoff Luncheon on Wednesday.

Witten had an historic season, after recovering from a lacerated spleen suffered in the preseason. He broke Kellen Winslow’s record for receptions by a tight end in a single game with 18 in Week 8, and broke Tony Gonzalez’s record for receptions by a tight end in a season with 110. Witten was rewarded with a 8th career Pro Bowl nod.

Meanwhile, Bryant had a legitimate breakout season, with 92 catches for 1,382 yards and 12 touchdowns.

“Honestly, I think whoever decides on these awards, they probably felt sorry for me,” Witten said, per the Fort Worth Star-Telegram. “I think we all know there’s really only one MVP, and he’s [Bryant] standing right by me. He’s an amazing player.”

Also at the luncheon, outside linebacker Anthony Spencer was named Defensive MVP and kicker Dan Bailey the Special Teams MVP.

Witten was also named the recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award.

Stay on top of the latest Dallas Cowboys news with Follow NBC DFW on Facebook or have breaking Cowboys news sent directly to your phone with Blue Star SMS alerts. Text "bluestar" to 622339 (NBCDFW) to subscribe, text HELP for more info, and text STOP to end the subscription. Message and data rates may apply.Read more about it here.

Copyright FREEL - NBC Local Media
Contact Us