Brees Edges Witten, Others For Bart Starr Award

Dallas Cowboystight end Jason Witten was among three other finalists to lose out to New Orleans quarterback Drew Brees in the voting for the 2010 Bart Starr Award. Brees was named the winner of the honor on Thursday.

The Bart Starr Award is given annually to a player who exemplifies outstanding character in the home and leadership among his teammates. Other finalists for the honor this year were Packers’ receiver Donald Driver and Redskins’ linebacker London Fletcher.

The only Cowboy to ever win the award is Darren Woodson, who won in 2001.

Ever the leader on the field, Witten has done a great amount of charitable work since entering the league in 2003, in the DFW area, his hometown of Elizabethton, Tennessee and beyond. A few years ago, Witten founded the SCORE Foundation to lend support to families and individuals affected by domestic violence; he has also done extensive work with the Boys & Girls Clubs of America.

Stay on top of the latest Dallas Cowboys news with Follow NBC DFW Sports on Facebook or have breaking Cowboys news sent directly to your phone with Blue Star SMS alerts. Text "bluestar" to 622339 (NBCDFW) to subscribe to this free service.  Read more about it here.

Copyright FREEL - NBC Local Media
Contact Us