Brandt, Harris, Walls to be Inducted to Texas Sports HoF

The three will be inducted at a ceremony in Waco in April


Three Dallas Cowboys legends will be inducted into the Texas Sports Hall of Fame this year as part of the Class of 2015, the organization announced Monday morning.

Longtime vice president of player personnel Gil Brandt--he was with the Cowboys from the franchise’s inaugural season of 1960 through 1989--and longtime defensive backs Cliff Harris and Everson Walls (pictured) will be inducted in a ceremony on April 9 at the site of the Hall of Fame in Waco.

It’s a fitting grouping, as Brandt’s revolutionary scouting practices helped bring the undrafted, small-school products Walls and Harris to Dallas. The rest, as they say, is history.

Harris went on to become a six-time Pro Bowler, a four-time All-Pro and a member of the All-Decade Team for the 1970s. He also won two Super Bowls with the Cowboys.

Walls was a four-time Pro Bowler and an All-Pro in 1983. He was a member of the New York Giants team that won Super Bowl XXV.

Joining Brandt, Harris and Walls are former Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback Ty Detmer, former University of Texas swimming coach Richard Quick, former Arkansas basketball coach Owen Nolan, Olympic champion 400 meter runner Jeremy Wariner and the late Zelmo Beaty, a Prairie View A&M basketball star who went on to a 14-year professional career in the NBA and ABA.

Stay on top of the latest Dallas Cowboys news with Follow NBC DFW on Facebook or have breaking Cowboys news sent directly to your phone with Blue Star SMS alerts. Text "bluestar" to 622339 (NBCDFW) to subscribe, text HELP for more info, and text STOP to end the subscription. Message and data rates may apply.Read more about it here.

Copyright FREEL - NBC Local Media
Contact Us