Benn Finishes 3rd In MVP Vote

Chicago's Patrick Kane won the Hart Trophy for the 2015-16 NHL season. Stars captain Jamie Benn finished third in the voting behind Kane and Pittsburgh captain Sidney Crosby.

The Hart Trophy goes to the MVP of the NHL.

Benn was named to the NHL First All-Star Team on Wednesday night, marking the third consecutive season that Benn has received All-Star honors. Voting for the All-Star Team was conducted by members of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular season.

Benn was named First All-Star Team in 2013-14.

Sports Connection

Connecting you to your favorite North Texas sports teams as well as sports news around the globe.

Cowboys ‘Optimistic' About Dak's Return Following Bye Week

Denton Guyer Drops Out of Texas Prep Top 10 After 1st Loss

The captain led the Stars with 89 points (41-48=89) in 82 regular-season games, which led the team and was second in the League.  He also tied for second in the NHL in power play goals (17) and ranked third in goals (41), posting new career highs in each category. Benn appeared in all 82 games during the regular season, marking the second consecutive season and the third time in his career that he's appeared in all 82 contests.

The Stars won the Central Division title last year and finished with the most points in the Western Conference.  The Stars beat Minnesota in the first round of the Stanley Cup Playoffs before losing in seven games in Dallas to St. Louis. 

Copyright FREEL - NBC Local Media
Contact Us