SMU Releases 2018 Football Schedule - NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth

SMU Releases 2018 Football Schedule

Mustangs enter first full season under head coach Sonny Dykes

    Winter Olympics PyeongChang 2018 Medal Count
    Country
    Total
    1
    Norway
    13121035
    2
    Germany
    137525
    3
    Canada
    97824
    processing...

    NEWSLETTERS

    SMU Releases 2018 Football Schedule

    SMU will open up the 2018 football season with the first two games of the year focusing on a couple of hometown showdowns.

    The Mustangs begin with a short trip up I-35 to face off against North Texas on Sept. 1 in Denton. SMU will return home the following weekend for the annual Battle for the Iron Skillet with TCU. The game will also be SMU’s Whiteout game.

    A trip to the Big House is also on the schedule when the Mustangs travel to Michigan on Sept. 15 to play the Wolverines.

    As for the American Athletic Conference West Division matchups, SMU has home games against Houston and Memphis while facing Tulane and Tulsa on the road.

    Robert Cianflone/Getty Images

    SMU finished the 2017 season with a 7-6 record, earning a trip to the inaugural Frisco Bowl. Sonny Dykes enters his first year as the Mustangs head coach after Chad Morris left to accept the same position at Arkansas prior to last year’s bowl game.

    2018 Schedule:

    Sat., Sept. 1        at North Texas

    Fri., Sept. 7         TCU

    Sat., Sept. 15      at Michigan

    Sat., Sept. 22      Navy

    Sat., Sept. 29      Houston Baptist

    Sat., Oct. 6          at UCF

    Sat., Oct. 20        at Tulane

    Sat., Oct. 27        Cincinnati

    Sat., Nov. 3         Houston

    Sat., Nov. 10       at UConn

    Fri., Nov. 16        Memphis

    Sat., Nov. 24       at Tulsa 

    Get the latest from NBC DFW anywhere, anytime

    • Download the App

      Available for IOS and Android