Rangers Add Rapada, Kirkman to ALCS Roster - NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth

Complete coverage of your AL Champion Texas Rangers

Rangers Add Rapada, Kirkman to ALCS Roster



    Rangers Add Rapada, Kirkman to ALCS Roster
    Getty Images
    ARLINGTON, TX - SEPTEMBER 01: Pitcher Neftali Feliz #30 of the Texas Rangers throws against the Toronto Blue Jays on September 1, 2009 at Rangers Ballpark in Arlington, Texas. (Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images)

    The Texas Rangers made only a couple of changes to the 25-man ALDS lineup for the ALCS.

    Out are infielder Esteban German and right-handed pitcher Dustin Nippert in favor of two lefties in the bullpen: Clay Rapada and Michael Kirkman.

    MLB.com writers T.R. Sullivan and Bill Ladson said German was on the ALDS roster mainly to be used as a pinch runner in late-innings, but was never used.  Nippert appeared in Texas' Game 3 loss to Tampa Bay where he gave up two runs on two hits in one inning.

    Rapada and Kirkman will join Neftali Feliz, Darren Oliver, Derek Holland, Darren O'Day and Alexi Ogando in the bullpen.

    The Rangers bullpen pitched an average of about three innings per game in the ALDS, allowed eight runs on 16 hits and five walks while striking out 15, MLB.com reported.

    "You're going to give up runs once in a while," O'Day said to MLB.com. "It happens. What's good is [manager Ron Washington] made sure guys got their feet wet. I don't care who you are, your first game in the playoffs, there is going to be some nerves.

    Game 1 of the ALCS is Friday night at 7:05 at Rangers Ballpark in Arlington.

    RH Pitchers (5)
    Neftali Feliz
    Tommy Hunter
    Colby Lewis
    Darren O'Day
    Alexi Ogando

    LH Pitchers (6)
    Derek Holland
    Michael Kirkman
    Cliff Lee
    Darren Oliver
    Clay Rapada
    C.J. Wilson 

    Catchers (2)
    Bengie Molina
    Matt Treanor

    Infielders (6)
    Elvis Andrus
    Andres Blanco
    Jorge Cantu
    Ian Kinsler
    Mitch Moreland
    Michael Young 

    Outfielders (6)
    Julio Borbon
    Nelson Cruz
    Jeff Francoeur
    Vladimir Guerrero
    Josh Hamilton
    David Murphy