Davey O'Brien Foundation Introduces Winners Kyler Murray, Jim Plunkett and Frisco's Hannah Mandell - NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth

Davey O'Brien Foundation Introduces Winners Kyler Murray, Jim Plunkett and Frisco's Hannah Mandell



    Kyler Murray Wins Davey O’Brien Award

    Kyler Murray is this year’s recipient of the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award. The former Allen Eagle and 2018 Heisman Trophy winner from Oklahoma University joins a prestigious list of previous O’Brien Award recipients including Peyton Manning, Jim McMahon, and Doug Flutie. Murray shared his thoughts on his latest athletic accomplishment and his decision to pursue life in the National Football League instead of Major League Baseball with NBC 5’s Paul Jones. (Published Monday, Feb. 18, 2019)

    The Davey O'Brien Foundation hosted a short discussion with this year's winners Monday afternoon ahead of the award presentation and dinner.

    This year's award winners are: Oklahoma junior Kyler Murray (Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award), Jim Plunkett (Davey O'Brien Legends Award), Hannah Mandell (Davey O'Brien High School Scholarship) and the O'Brien Family (Charles Ringler Founder's Award).

    Allen native Kyler Murray made headlines last week when he opted to pursue a career in the NFL and pass up an opportunity to play baseball for the Oakland A's. He was the ninth overall pick in last June's baseball amateur draft and had a minor league deal with the A's worth $4.66 million.

    Jim Plunkett, drafted in 1971 by the New England Patriots, played in the NFL for 16 years with the Patriots, 49ers and Raiders. He was the first minority quarterback to ever win a Super Bowl and he was named MVP of Super Bowl XV. Read more on Plunkett from the Davey O'Brien Foundation.

    Davey O'Brien Winners Kyler Murray, Hannah Mandell Honored

    [DFW] Davey O'Brien Winners Kyler Murray, Hannah Mandell Honored

    The Davey O'Brien Foundation hosts a discussion with this year's award winners, Frisco Wakeland High School's Hannah Mandell, NFL great Jim Plunkett and Allen native, Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray.

    (Published Monday, Feb. 18, 2019)

    Hannah Mandell of Justin Wakeland High School in Frisco is the recipient of the 33rd Annual Davey O’Brien High School Scholarship Award. Mandell is a National AP Scholar and AP Scholar with Distinction. She ranks seventh out of 496 students in her class with a 5.423 GPA on a 5.0 scale while participating in soccer, cross country and track. Read more on Mandell from the Davey O'Brien Foundation.

    The Charles Ringler Founder's Award honors a group or corporation devoted to the foundation. This year the O'Brien family is receiving that award for championing the foundation since its inception in 1977. Read more on the family from the Davey O'Brien Foundation.

    The event will begin at about 4:30 p.m. Each of the four winners will have a short discussion with emcee Scott Murray.

    Get the latest from NBC DFW anywhere, anytime

    • Download the App

      Available for IOS and Android