Decision 2020

Sheriff's Races: Dallas County's Marian Brown Wins 2nd Term

Tarrant County Sheriff Bill Waybourn, who was elected in 2016, wins re-election

The races for president, Senate seats and the House of Representatives will get all the headlines, but there are dozens of races down the ballot that will impact North Texas communities with even more immediacy, including the races for county sheriff.

In Dallas County, Sheriff Marian Brown (D) won a second term Tuesday night with 64% of the vote. Brown was appointed to the job on an interim basis when former Sheriff Lupe Valdez stepped down to run for governor, but Dallas County residents voted to keep her in office two years ago this month.

NBC 5's Brian Curtis sits down with newly-elected Dallas County Sheriff Marian Brown.

Brown, the county's first Black sheriff, was also the first Black woman to be a police officer in Duncanville when she was hired in 1988.

Republican Chad Prda, a former detective in the Dallas County Sheriff's Office, challenged Brown, but only received 36% of the votes. He started with the sheriff's office in 2003, according to his website, and worked his way from clerk to detective.

In Tarrant County, Bill Waybourn has won his re-election bid for the Sheriff with 53% of the vote. Waybourn was elected sheriff in 2016 after 31 years as the police chief in Dalworthington Gardens. He challenged and defeated incumbent Republican Dee Anderson, who was elected in 2000, in the 2016 Republican primary before winning the general election with 80% of the vote.

Fort Worth police Capt. Vance Keyes ran against Waybourn as the Democratic candidate. Keyes obtained 47% of the vote. His campaign website says Keyes would modernize the Tarrant County Sheriff's Office, bringing transparency and accountability.

Tarrant County Sheriff Bill Waybourn thanks supports for ‘an incredible victory’ as he addresses the Tarrant County Republican Party.

Denton County Sheriff Tracy Murphree (R) also won re-election on Tuesday with 94% of the vote, according to the Denton Record-Chronicle. Murphree was first elected in 2016 after a lengthy career with the Texas Department of Public Safety, according to his campaign website.

According to the Denton Record-Chronicle, Murphree was running unopposed until Freyja Odinsdottir filed to run as a write-in candidate in August.

In Collin County, Republican Jim Skinner is running for re-election unopposed. He was first elected in 2016.

Election Results Pages:
Federal, State: U.S. President | U.S. Senate/House | Texas, State Judicial Races
By County: Collin | Dallas | Denton | Tarrant | Other

Live Election Results

Source: AP

Contact Us