Hensarling to Co-Chair Debt Comittee - NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth

Hensarling to Co-Chair Debt Comittee



    Hensarling to Co-Chair Debt Comittee
    Getty Images

    House Speaker John Boehner has named GOP Rep. Jeb Hensarling of Texas to co-chair a powerful new committee that will try to come up with a bipartisan plan this fall to reduce the federal budget deficit by more than $1 trillion.

    Hensarling's district includes areas of Dallas, Garland, and Rowlett, plus Kaurfman, Henderson, and Van Zandt counties.

    Boehner also named Reps. Dave Camp and Fred Upton, both of Michigan, to the committee.

    Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell has named Sens. Jon Kyl of Arizona, Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania and Rob Portman of Ohio to the committee.

    On Tuesday, Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid named Sen. Patty Murray, D-Wash., as the other co-chair.