King Arnold, Bazaldua Re-Elected; Incumbent Blewett Defeated in City Council Runoff

New Dallas City Council members were also elected in districts 2, 11 and 13, marking four new city council members

NBCUniversal, Inc.

Dallas City Council members Carolyn King Arnold and Adam Bazaldua were re-elected in Saturday's runoff, while incumbent David Blewett lost his race to Paul E. Ridley.

Three other Dallas City Council seats were on the ballot in Saturday's runoff election -- three districts in which the incumbent could not run due to term limits.

Ridley, along with Jesse Moreno in District 2, Jaynie Schultz in District 11 and Gay Donnell Willis in District 13, will join the two re-elected incumbents and the eight other returning council members who won re-election in the May general election.

In the May 1 election that resulted in the runoff, 10 polling places in Dallas opened after the 7 a.m. start time. One of the 10 opened four hours late.

In response, the Dallas City Council refused to pay the additional cost Dallas County asked for operating a June run-off election. The city contracts with Dallas County to run city elections.

Dallas Mayor Eric Johnson endorsed two candidates in the May 1 election, both of whom failed to reach the runoff.

Contact Us