Two Student Meteorologists Win Harold Taft Scholarships

Two North Texas women win scholarship named for NBC 5's first forecaster

Two North Texas women studying to become broadcast meteorologists won the 2015 Harold Taft Scholarship.

Mandy Bailey, University of Oklahoma

Although she grew up in Plano, Mandy Bailey decided to pursue a degree in meteorology in the “mecca” of severe weather: Norman, Oklahoma. Bailey has been a weather anchor the last two years at her student run college newscast, “OU Nightly.”

She also interned at NBC 5 and KWTV in Oklahoma City. Bailey pursued a broadcast meteorology degree to “effectively communicate my knowledge and passion of weather to the public with the hopes of saving lives, especially during severe weather.”

Meagan Massey, Mississippi State University

The 2012 outbreak of 17 tornadoes in North Texas inspired Meagan Massey to pursue a degree in broadcast meteorology. Raised in Rockwall, Massey expects to graduate next spring from Mississippi State University with a degree in Professional Meteorology (Broadcast Emphasis).

Her career goals include being a morning weather forecaster. Massey interned at KAIT in Jonesboro, Arkansas and the Nashville Severe Weather website.

About the Scholarship

NBC 5 KXAS-TV and the Lone Star Emmy Educational Foundation proudly offer the Harold Taft Scholarship. It is presented to Texas college students pursuing meteorology or atmospheric science degrees.

The namesake is Harold Taft, who served as Chief Meteorologist at WBAP and KXAS-TV from 1949 until 1991. NBC 5 Chief Meteorologist David Finfrock is the scholarship chairman. Each student will receive $2,500 going to directly to their school.

Past recipients include Jorge Torres, Chief Meteorologist at KOB-TV in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Contact Us