Texas Rangers

Texas Rangers to Honor 1996 Division Champion Team

The Texas Rangers are set Tuesday to honor the 1996 team, which won the first division title in franchise history.

The club will honor the 1996 American League West champion team before their game against the Cincinnati Reds at 7:05 p.m. Tuesday.

The 1996 Rangers finished the season with a 90-72 record and won the division by 4½ games. Outfielder Juan Gonzalez was named the AL MVP and the late Johnny Oates was named AL Co-Manager of the Year, along with New York Yankees manager Joe Torre.

More than 20 players and coaches, including catcher Ivan Rodriguez, first baseman Will Clark and second baseman Mark McLemore, committed to attend Tuesday's game.

Evening with a Legend

Before the on-field ceremony, Clark and Rodriguez will take part in the Capital One Bank Rangers' Evening with a Legend Series.

Couples attending the event will pose for photographs and receive an autograph baseball from Clark and Rodriguez, tickets to Tuesday's Reds-Rangers game, a multi-course dinner and more.

The cost to attend Evening with a Legend is $500 per couple.

When: 5-6:30 p.m. Tuesday
Where: Hall of Fame at Globe Life Park in Arlington
Tickets: texasrangers.com/foundation or 817-273-5030

Contact Us