Footage from the body cameras police officers wear will no longer come for free in Texas.
Starting Thursday, the state will require people to pay a fee if they request body camera footage, according to an announcement Friday in the Texas Register, an online publication of the Texas secretary of state's office. Body cameras, which can be attached to law enforcement officers to record their actions, have been touted as a way to increase police accountability.
Under the rule proposed by the Texas attorney general's office, law enforcement agencies in Texas will charge $10 for each recording they provide to the public.
The latest news from around North Texas.
They will also charge an additional fee of $1 per minute of footage if an identical copy hasn't been released.