NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth Wins Four Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards Including Overall Station Excellence and Investigative Reporting Honors

The Radio and Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) awarded NBC 5 / KXAS four regional Edward R. Murrow Awards for journalistic excellence. The awards recognize the best in electronic journalism produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world.

The prestigious honors include:

Overall Excellence: NBC 5 / KXAS’s commitment to keeping people safe, holding the powerful accountable and telling compelling stories is highlighted in this year’s entry. The station’s coverage of breaking news and weather in addition to a major commitment to investigative and community stories set the station apart in a highly competitive marketplace. Overall Excellence: KXAS

Newscast: NBC5 News at 10: Mama Bear. It’s not often that one person can rouse an area like Dallas-Fort Worth. On February 11, 2015 the journalists of NBC 5, led by Executive Producer Guy Mitchell, told the story of one young woman who had simply had enough. Newscast: NBC 5 News at 10: Mama Bear

Investigative Reporting: Investigating Texas "Calm Rooms." This nine-month-long investigation uncovered a seven-hour video showing a Texas teacher physically abusing an eight-year-old autistic boy while forcing him into a closet-like space known as a “calm room.” Following the reporting by Senior Investigative reporter Scott Friedman, producer Eva Parks and photojournalist Peter Hull, Texas lawmakers passed new law requiring video cameras in the calm rooms. Investigative Reporting: Investigating Texas “Calm Rooms”

Use of Video: Michael Richard. This compilation of compelling video and audio offers an intimate look at high school football in Texas and one of an ongoing series of reports titled “Texas Connects Us” that demonstrate what is unique about the state. Use of Video: Michael Richard

“The regional Edward R. Murrow awards reinforce the commitment to excellence exhibited by our news team each and every day,” said Tom Ehlmann, NBC 5 President and General Manager. “The Overall Excellence award is the ultimate team accomplishment. It is a reflection of NBC 5’s dedication to great local journalism.”

Edward R. Murrow Awards are presented annually by The Radio Television Digital News Association, the world’s largest professional organization devoted exclusively to electronic journalism. Region six includes the states of Texas and Oklahoma. For a complete look at all of the 2016 winners, please click here to access the RTNDA website.

Today’s regional winners are automatically entered and advanced to the national Edward R. Murrow Awards competition, which will be judged in June, 2016. The national awards will be presented in October at the RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala in New York City.

About NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth / KXAS

NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth / KXAS is the NBC Owned television station serving the communities of North Texas with quality news and entertainment programming on NBC 5, COZI TV (Digital 5.2), online at NBCDFW.com and our other digital and social media platforms.

Contact Us