Dallas Mayor Headed to a Runoff, City Council, DCCCD Bond Package Results

Dallas County voters pass DCCCD $1.1 billion bond package

Election Results: See All Races Here

For the first time since 2011, the people of Dallas are electing a new mayor -- but we'll have to wait until a June 8 runoff to know who it is.  After eight years in office, Mayor Mike Rawlings is term-limited out and a new successor will be chosen -- it'll be either Scott Griggs or Eric Johnson.

Voters will also choose a new City Council, three Dallas ISD trustees and weigh-in on a very large bond package presented by the Dallas County Community College District.

The results of those races are below and will continue to be updated throughout the evening.

Dallas Mayor

The race for Dallas mayor has a healthy nine candidates, and with none securing more than 51 percent of the vote we're headed to a runoff on June 8 between Eric Johnson and Scott Griggs.

Dallas voters were also asked to choose their new City Council for all 14 districts.  Those districts are broken down below.

Dist. 1, 2

The current District 1 seat was vacated by Scott Griggs, who is running for Dallas mayor. In District 2, incumbent and current Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Adam anothero wants anoter term in his seat.

Dist. 3, 4

Mayor Pro Tem Casey Thomas II hopes to hold onto his District 3 seat, while Carolyn King Arnold faces a number of challengers in District 4. Arnold filled the seat in a special election last fall after disgraced councilman Dwaine Caraway resigned amid a corruption scandal, holding off challenger Keyaira Saunders, who again is trying to unseat her in Saturday's election.

Dist. 5, 6

In District 5, three-term Councilman Rickey Callahan opted to return full-time to real estate and to spend time with his father, according to an interview with The Dallas Morning News. The departure left a field of three vying for his seat.

In District 6, Omar Narvaez wants a second term, but he'll have to hold off challengers Tony Carillo and Monica Alonzo.

Dist. 7, 8

District 7 incumbent Kevin Felder, who had some legal trouble related to an alleged hit-and-run crash earlier this year with a man on a scooter, has eight challengers trying to keep him from a second term.

District 8 incumbent Tennell Atkins is going for his sixth term Saturday. Though there are term limits on the Dallas City Council limiting council members to four, two-year terms, after staying out of office for two years candidates can return to the council. Atkins previously served District 8 from 2007 to 2015.

Dist. 9, 10

After two terms, District 9 councilman Mark Clayton told The Dallas Morning News he was stepping aside to focus on his insurance business and his family. Five challengers stepped in to fill his seat.

In District 10, Adam McGough will have to hold off two challengers to win his third term representing Lake Highlands and Hamilton Park.

Dist. 11, 12

Lee Kleinman is after his fourth, and final, win in District 11 on Saturday. Over in District 12, Sandy Greyson was term-limited out for a second time after serving eight terms. Three challengers entered the race to fill her seat.

Dist. 13, 14

In one of the more highly publicized races this spring, former Dallas Mayor Laura Miller hopes to keep District 13 Councilwoman Jennifer Staubach Gates from her fourth and final term.

Meanwhile, in District 14, Philip Kingston is seeking his fourth and final term.

DISD Trustees

Four people were hoping to fill the Dallas ISD Trustee District 4 seat vacated by Jaime Resendez in February. If a runoff is necessary, it will be held on June 8.

District 5 incumbent Dr. Lew Blackburn opted to not seek reelection.

Dallas ISD Trustee District 7 incumbent Audrey Pinkerton also opted not to seek reelection.

DCCCD Bond Package

Voters in Dallas County were asked to consider a $1.1 billion bond package for the Dallas County Community College District. The package was to, in short, improve and renovate buildings. Read more here.

Contact Us