15 Texas Counties To Get Disaster Aid After October Storms

Texas will receive federal aid for the ongoing recovery from October storms that left six people dead.

The White House on Wednesday announced a major disaster declaration for 15 Texas counties that include Houston and Austin.  Texas Gov. Greg Abbott requested the declaration last Friday, Nov. 20.

The counties under the disaster declaration are Bastrop, Brazoria, Caldwell, Comal, Galveston, Guadalupe, Hardin, Harris, Hays, Hidalgo, Liberty, Navarro, Travis, Willacy, and Wilson.

“I want to thank the President and FEMA for their swift response to Texas’ request for a federal disaster declaration,” said Abbott Wednesday in a prepared statement. “Texas looks forward to working with its FEMA partners to ensure those in need receive the assistance necessary to start rebuilding their lives.”

The declaration authorizes federal aid that includes temporary housing grants and loans to cover the loss of uninsured property. The Federal Emergency Management Agency will begin taking online or telephone applications for assistance Thursday.

The President also granted disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration.

Storms and heavy rain flooded streets throughout Central and Southeast Texas. Houston police found two dead, one in a rain-swollen ditch and another in a wooded area where there had been water.

Copyright AP - Associated Press
Contact Us