North Texas

Dallas Incumbents Lose City Council Seats

Election results for some of the key runoff races in North Texas, June 11, 2017.

Arlington City Council - District 3
Marvin Sutton and Roxanne Thalman edged out two opponents in the May General Election to square off in Saturday's runoff. The pair are trying to fill the seat vacated by six-term councilmember Robert Rivera who announced last November he would not seek a seventh two-year term. In the general election, Sutton secured 44 percent of the vote to Thalman's 35 percent.

Arlington City Council - District 5
Incumbent Lana Wolff is going for her eighth two-year term on the Arlington City Council. First elected in 2003, Wolff served as Mayor Pro Tem frsom 2008-2011. In the May General Election Wolff failed to secure more than 50 percent of the vote, leading to the runoff against challenger Dakota Loupe.

Carrollton Mayor
Kevin Falconer and Steve Babick are fighting to replace Carrollton Mayor Matthew Marchant, who is leaving the office after hitting a term limit. Marchant was first elected mayor of the city in 2011 and was reelected again in 2014. Falconer had an 18 point lead in the May General Election, but didn't reach the necessary 51 percent to avoid a runoff.

Dallas City Council - District 6
In the fight to represent West Dallas, incumbent Monica Alonzo, who is also the current Mayor Pro Tem, is in a runoff with challenger Omar Narvaez. Alonzo and Narvaez were the top two finishers in the May General Election where there was a field of six candidates vying for District 6. Should Alonzo win, it'll be her fourth term on the Dallas City Council.

Dallas City Council - District 7
Six candidates challenged incumbent District 7 Councilwoman Tiffinni Young for the District 7 seat. With only 37 percent of the vote in the General Election, Young failed to avoid a runoff and now has to once again earn more votes than Kevin Felder if she hopes to win her second term.

Dallas City Council - District 8
Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Erik Wilson is in a runoff with Tennell Atkins. Atkins edged Wilson in the General Election by five percentage points, but failed to get the more than 50 percent needed for an outright win.

Dallas ISD - District 2
Challenger Lori Kirkpatrick was one percentage point shy of defeating incumbent Dustin Marshall in the Dallas ISD Board of Trustees Place 2 race in the May General Election. Kirkpatrick earned 50 percent of the vote to Marshall's 47 percent. Marshall has served on the Board of Trustees since June 2016.

Farmers Branch Mayor
Longtime Farmers Branch Mayor Bob Phelps is ending his second run as mayor. Phelps served 12 years as mayor during his first run and then another two terms during his second. Harold Froehlich and Robert Dye are in the runoff for the open seat. In the May general, Froehlich secured 9 percent more of the vote than Dye, but needed another 8 percent to avoid the runoff. Dye, 33, responded to the Dallas Voice this week and apologized for a racial slur used 13 yeas ago during a DUI arrest. Meanwhile, Froehlich has been accused by a current Farmers Branch City Councilmember of taking bribes, according to a report in The Dallas Morning News.

Fort Worth City Council - District 2
After six terms, Sal Espino is retiring from the Fort Worth City Council. Four challengers looked to fill his seat in the May General Election, but none earned more than 50 percent of the vote. That means Carlos Flores and Steve Thornton are facing of Saturday in a runoff.

Keller Mayor
In Keller, Mark Mathews is stepping down after one three-year term as mayor. In the May General Election, Pat McGrail earned 50 percent of the vote, but needed 51 percent to avoid a runoff with Rick Barnes.

Contact Us